How do I enable Eventsential’s social networking features for my event?
First, make sure that you enable and configure “Social Networking” on the event edit screen by checking the box next to “Enable social networking functionality”.
Users must be approved before appearing in the directory, sending or receiving messages, or posting to the timeline.
There are two ways to configure your event's social restrictions:
- Users must be known to the event, or approved by an administrator:
For restricted access events (email list, shared password, 3rd party authentication) attendees will automatically be approved to participate in social activities.
For non-restricted access events (those open to the public) each attendee must be present on the Attendee Roster or approved by an administrator before they can participate in social activities such as Attendee-to-Attendee Messaging and posting to the Activity Timeline.
- Approve all users automatically:
Selecting this option will immediately allow attendees who have created a social profile to participate in social activities such as Attendee-to-Attendee Messaging and posting to the Activity Timeline. These users can still be blocked by the admin on a case–by-case basis.
Individual social features must then be added to your event’s navigation using the Manage Menu section. Simply drag the Attendee Directory and/or Activity Timeline from the additional information items to the desired location in your event navigation.